Skip to content

You Had Me at Hola

You Had Me at Hola

by Alexis Daria

Description

RITA® Award Winning author Alexis Daria brings readers an unforgettable, hilarious rom-com set in the drama-filled world of telenovelas—perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin and The Kiss Quotient.

Leading Ladies do not end up on tabloid covers.

After a messy public breakup, soap opera darling Jasmine Lin Rodriguez finds her face splashed across the tabloids. When she returns to her hometown of New York City to film the starring role in a bilingual romantic comedy for the number one streaming service in the country, Jasmine figures her new “Leading Lady Plan” should be easy enough to follow—until a casting shake-up pairs her with telenovela hunk Ashton Suárez. 

Leading Ladies don’t need a man to be happy

After his last telenovela character was killed off, Ashton is worried his career is dead as well. Joining this new cast as a last-minute addition will give him the chance to show off his acting chops to American audiences and ping the radar of Hollywood casting agents. To make it work, he’ll need to generate smoking-hot on-screen chemistry with Jasmine. Easier said than done, especially when a disastrous first impression smothers the embers of whatever sexual heat they might have had. 

Leading Ladies do not rebound with their new costars.

With their careers on the line, Jasmine and Ashton agree to rehearse in private. But rehearsal leads to kissing, and kissing leads to a behind-the-scenes romance worthy of a soap opera. While their on-screen performance improves, the media spotlight on Jasmine soon threatens to destroy her new image and expose Ashton’s most closely guarded secret.

Review

I finished You Had Me at Hola and just thought “This book is delightful.” Everything from Jasmine and her family to the show, Carmen in Charge, and the attraction between Jasmine and Ashton was perfect. There was the perfect combination of sweet, steamy, and funny moments in this book. Beneath everything ran the importance of support and family for both Jasmine and Ashton. I even enjoyed the scenes from Carmen in Charge (cut away are not usually my thing) because they fit so perfectly into the story.

Jasmine has just been publicly dumped and has moved her career from LA back home to New York to star in a new show, Carmen in Charge. Which, by the way, I would totally watch if it was a really show. She has a plan to take her career to the next level and laid out a plan for how a Leading Lady should act. Which promptly is brought into question when she meets her new costar, Ashton. Ashton is also looking to upgrade his career with Carmen in Charge. However, the immediate attraction with the leading lady and the publicity following her threatens his carefully constructed world. Ashton has real and legitimate reasons behind his actions, even when they have the potential to interrupt his budding relationship with Jasmine.

I found myself loving basically every aspect of this book. The side characters, from Jasmine’s gal pal cousins to her critical parents and siblings and her supportive grandparents, to the cast members of Carmen in Charge, as well as Ashton’s colorful family, are all well-written and add beautifully to the story. The attraction between Ashton and Jasmine, especially once they decide to give in and act on it, is steamy and yet at times sweet. This may have been the first Alexis Daria book I’ve read but it definitely won’t be the last!

*Received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Links

2 Comments »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: