Skip to content

A Spinster’s Guide to Danger and Dukes-Review

A Spinster’s Guide to Danger and Dukes

Manda Collins

Genre: Historical Romance

Series: Ladies Most Scandalous #3

Publisher: Forever

Publication Date: March 28,2023

Source: Received an ARC in exchange for an honest review

Rating: 4 Stars

Amazon Indiebound

Description:

It is a truth universally acknowledged that a lady in danger must be in need of rescue, but whether she wants to be rescued is up for debate—for fans of Evie Dunmore and Netflix’s Bridgerton from the bestselling author of A Lady’s Guide to Mischief and Mayhem!
 
England, 1867: Miss Poppy Delamare is living a lie. To escape an odious betrothal, she fled to London where she’s been hiding as the unassuming secretary Flora Deaver. However, when her beloved sister is accused of murder, Poppy cannot leave her to the wolves. Only a most unexpected—and unwelcome—collision interrupts her journey home . . . 

Despite a rather dismal first meeting, Joshua Fielding, the Duke of Langham, has no intention of abandoning a lady in need. But he’s not above asking a favor. A fake betrothal will give Poppy and her sister the power of the dukedom and protect Langham from the society misses intent on becoming his duchess.

Yet the longer the ruse goes on, the more Poppy and Langham realize how false their first impressions were—and the less pretend their engagement feels. But before Langham can propose in truth, their search reveals a tangled web of lies and betrayals. With time running out, can Poppy and Langham find the real culprit—before Poppy becomes the next victim?

Review:

I haven’t read the first two books in this series but they’re definitely moving up my TBR. This was a delightful book with just the right amount of mystery and intrigue. Poppy and Langham embark on a mission to be in a fake relationship as well as save her sister who has been accused of murdering her husband. So we have the drama of a society house party mixed with an investigation, plus a sweet couple falling in love! Both Poppy and Langham were well written characters and their enemies to friends to lovers story was a fun read.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: