Skip to content

Murder Most Actual- Review

Murder Most Actual

By Alexis Hall

Genre: Contemporary Romance, Mystery Romance

Publisher: Kobo Originals

Publication Date: November 9,2021

Source: Received an ARC in exchange for an honest review

Rating: 4 Stars

Kobo

Description:

From the author of Boyfriend Material and Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake comes a cozy mystery that revisits the Golden Age of detective fiction, starring a heroine who’s more podcaster than private eye and topped with a lethal dose of parody — perfect for fans of Clue, Knives Out, and Only Murders in the Building!

When up-and-coming true crime podcaster Liza and her corporate financier wife Hanna head to a luxurious hotel in the Scottish Highlands, they’re hoping for a chance to rekindle their marriage – not to find themselves trapped in the middle of an Agatha Christie-esque murder mystery with no way home. But who better to take on the case than someone whose entire profession relies on an obsession with all things mysterious and macabre? Though some of her fellow guests may consider her an interfering new media hack, Liza knows a thing or two about crime and – despite Hanna’s preference for waiting out the chaos behind a locked door – might be the only one capable of discovering the killer. As the bodies rack up and the stakes rise, can they save their marriage — and their lives? 

Review:

Murder Most Actual was exactly the type of cozy, murder mystery I enjoy. Liza and Hanna are a married couple going through a rough patch. A weekend away at hotel in the Scottish Highlands turns out to be far more dangerous than they expected. A snow storm traps them there and one by one, the guests begin to die off. Liza has a murder podcast and, while Hanna, is reluctant, they begin to investigate and hopefully don’t get killed off themselves.

I really liked both Hanna and Liza as characters although the book was more focused on Liza. They are having serious marital issues but both are doing their best to work through them and truly love each other. The murders in this book were dramatic and definitely kept me at the edge of my seat and afraid for Liza and Hanna. I’ll admit that I’m not usually the best at figuring out “whodunit” so I do enjoy murder mysteries at times and especially like ones with love stories. There was humor still in the mix with the danger in this book!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: