Skip to content

Breaking Badger- Review

Breaking Badger

By Shelly Laurenston

Series: The Honey Badger Chronicles #4

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Publisher: Kensington Books

Source: Received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Rating: 4.5 Stars

Amazon Indiebound

Description:

Fans of Thea Harrison and Nalini Singh won’t want to miss this exciting, funny, and sexy novel in the mega-popular series.

“Shelly Laurenston’s shifter books are full of oddball characters, strong females with attitude and dialogue that can have you laughing out loud.” —The Philadelphia Inquirer

It’s instinct that drives Finn Malone to rescue a bunch of hard battling honey badgers. The Siberian tiger shifter just can’t bear to see his fellow shifters harmed. But no way can Finn have a houseful of honey badgers when he also has two brothers with no patience. Things just go from bad to worse when the badgers rudely ejected from his home turn out to be the only ones who can help him solve a family tragedy. He’s just not sure he can even get back into the badgers’ good graces. Since badgers lack graces of any kind . . .

Mads knows her teammates aren’t about to forgive the cats that were so rude to them, but moody Finn isn’t so bad. And he’s cute! The badger part of her understands Finn’s burning need to avenge his father’s death—after all, vengeance is her favorite pastime. So Mads sets about helping Finn settle his family’s score, which has its perks, since she gets to avoid her own family drama. Besides, fighting side by side with Finn is her kind of fun—especially when she can get in a hot and heavy snuggle with her very own growling, eye-rolling, and utterly irresistible kitty-cat . . .

“Filled with high-octane action, some serious snark, and a plethora of humor.. the resulting madcap adventures are sure to please series fans.”
Publishers Weekly

Review:

Shelly Laurenston is always a hit with me. I go in, knowing her books are insanely over the top, violent and out of this world. The romance usually takes second string to the antics in her books and I’m okay with that. The same is true for Breaking Badger. I needed an escape and humor and this book is all of that and more. We were introduced to Max’s honey badger basketball team friends (and special ops team) in the previous book and Mads, the heroine, is one of them. The one who actually takes their basketball career seriously. Mads is a half-honey badger, half hyena, with all the inopportune time giggling to go with it. She has a horrible family and the team is really her friends. On a special ops mission, she meets Finn Malone, a tiger, who, with his brothers, in looking into their father’s death. Finn and Mads get thrown together through all the crazy hijinks in this book and throughout that time, start to fall for each other. It’s hard to describe the humor of these books without reading them. I mean, it’s a book about a honey badger shifter, you just know it’s going to be over the top in all the best ways. In the midst of the non-stop action, there is friendship and sibling support and those heartwarming moments just give the series more depth. I’m so excited this series seems to be continuing with the rest of the honey badger team. Sign me up every time!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: